Plastic Stone Records - Vinyl Online Shop
  • English
  • Polski
  • Deutsch
Plastic Stone Records - Vinyl Online Shop
Cart 0
Wamono Disco - Nippon Columbia Disco  Boogie Hits 1978-1982 LP (Black Vinyl)

Wamono Disco - Nippon Columbia Disco Boogie Hits 1978-1982 LP (Black Vinyl)

Regular price €31,99 €0,00 Unit price per
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

This is Preorder. The estimated ship date is April, 2024. 

Limited to 2 copies per person 

Step into the groove with the latest addition to the renowned Wamono series! 180g proudly presents an extraordinary compilation of Disco and Boogie gems sourced from the iconic Nippon Columbia label during the vibrant late seventies and early eighties. Get ready to hit the dance floor – it's time to dance the night away!

● Immerse yourself in the music with a premium 180g heavy vinyl pressing and a sleek reverse board jacket.

● Revel in the authentic sounds of Nippon Columbia with fully licensed masters.

● Experience top-notch mastering and lacquer cutting by Jukka Sarapää at Timmion Cutting Lab in Helsinki, Finland.

● Feast your eyes on the distinctive artwork crafted by Nker.

In the mid-seventies, Tokyo and the entire Japanese scene were swept up in the disco fever. Following the success of the Fatback Band's "Do The Bus Stop" in the US charts, Victor, a Japanese label, responded with the first domestically produced disco track in 1976 – "Sexy Bus Stop" under the enigmatic moniker Dr. Dragon & Oriental Express, a guise for the accomplished Japanese pop composer Kyohei Tsutsumi. The track quickly became a sensation in the country, leading various Japanese record companies to dive into the disco wave. From 1976 to the early 1980s, skilled studio musicians, not computers, crafted the music, delivering a robust sound to the dance floor. Disco tunes permeated TV series, commercials, and even anime.

This compilation delves into the golden era of Disco and Boogie, exploring some of the finest releases from the legendary Nippon Columbia label. From the chart-topping "The Birth Of The Odyssey - Monkey Magic" by Godiego to the obscure yet excellent "Disco Great Tokyo" by Pink Parachute, this selection promises an immersive journey through the rich soundscape of late seventies and early eighties Japan. So, lace up your dance shoes, and let the rhythm take over – it's time to enjoy the groove!

Record Label

180g – 180GWALP06

Barcode: 5050580816824

Tracklist (Japanese)

A1 Godiego - The Birth Of The Odyssey - Monkey Magic
A2 Ikue Sakakibara - This Is Hot
A3 Soul Media - I Will Give You Samba
A4 Hatsumi Shibata - Purple Shadow
B1 Yumi Murata - Krishna
B2 Yoshito Machida & Godiego - Ame Wa Knife No Yo Sa
B3 Pink Parachute - Disco Great Tokyo
B4 Hatsumi Shibata - Hazumi De Daite (A Woman In A Man's World)